The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How to achieve this sound? Arpeggiated Synth. Keyboard Controllers
Old 4 days ago
Gear Head

How to achieve this sound? Arpeggiated Synth.

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to synthesis... classically trained on Piano. I only know some basics and I really want to be able to achieve this specific sound.

Example #1 : Unnatural - The Jezabels
And how is she pulling it all off live???: Unnatural - Live

Example #2 , in the intro: Stand and Deliver - The Jezabels )
Live version: Stand and Deliver - Live

Best Example #3 Pleasure Drive - The Jezabels (Live version)
I desperately want to be able to perform these kind of sequences live.

It's an arpeggiated synth. In the clips I've seen live, she plays a single note for each bar. How does this work? and are there any tutorials on this kind of thing on YouTube?
I know some basics on how arpeggiation works but these sequences seem slightly random... in example 1 she plays a single note for each bar, but each bar has a slight variation of arpeggio (the last bar the notes go up higher near the end). It's not just the same arpeggio going up and down each time, and what's more, mix of major and minor chords...

(I see she uses an Arturia KeyLab 88 live if that changes anything... but also another keyboard I can't quite make out)
Old 4 days ago
Gear Head

Bump. Any help?

Basically want to be able to recreate that live setup...
Old 4 days ago
Gear Nut

Maybe because half of the linked videos are not available?