The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Yamaha TG77 - woah! Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 11th October 2017
Gear Nut

Yamaha TG77 - woah!

Just recently got one of these on the advice of a mate and I have to say - it's blowing my socks off!

Is it just me being relatively uninformed about FM or is this a bit of an unsung masterpiece, in another league to the (great) DX7 that seems to be getting all the love these days?

The metallic/ ethereal sounds are it can make are unlike anything I've come across elsewhere and even the presets are absolutely amazingly good (I'm guessing at least some/ most were programmed by the previous owner though). I'm still learning the basics of FM programming but I've had some success modifying the existing patches.

Anyone know of any good resources on this, either for learning to programme it or a source of patches to use & modify?
Old 11th October 2017
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulletproof View Post
Anyone know of any good resources on this, either for learning to programme it or a source of patches to use & modify?
SY programming manual

Yeah they're great . SY77/99/tg77 are the top FM synths IMO. Looping envelopes ftw.
Old 11th October 2017
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegreengold View Post
Thanks for this bluegreengold. Much experience with it yourself?
Old 11th October 2017
Gear Maniac
My DX7 is my favorite synthesizer. My SY77 is the "big guns" for when I need to light up faces with magic breathtaking layered evolving patches.

I find its best to learn FM on a simpler FM synth like a DX7. The SY77 is like two DX7s, a D50 and a JD800 kinda smashed into one crazy digital synth.