The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Analog sounds nowadays..
Old 26th March 2007
Gear Addict

Analog sounds nowadays..

I'm a keyboard noob. please be gentle.

I've got a home studio and incorporate keys from time to time, but would more if I could be inspired by the sounds. I was at my local gear shop and started messing with a Kawai K3 keyboard. The guy who traded it in had programmed some amazing sounds into it. For probably the first time ever, I was actually inspired by the sounds. The bass was FAT and it sounded very rich. They had another K3 there that wasn't previously programmed, and it sounded quite boring.

Currently I've got a CME controller and am using soft synth sounds, these being limited to Reason and the plugs in Cubase 3. There are some good sounds in there, but nothing fat and analog sounding. At least none I've heard.

SO, my question: Are there other boards that will give me the fat analog sounds the K3 gave me with perhaps an easier interface? How would the Nord Lead rack (original) compare? Something like a racked hardware synth would be easier to incorporate into my studio space-wise. And finally, are there any soft synths that would give any fatness close to analog? I've seen Reason Refill samples for example of a few of these classic analog keyboards..
Old 26th March 2007
Lives for gear

Nothing beats the real deal. Two ways to get into analog on the cheap;

http://www.moogmusic.com/detail.php?main_product_id=254

http://www.davesmithinstruments.com/evolver/photos.html

Nord's are cool for their own unique sounds as well but you will never regret going for real analog
Old 26th March 2007
i like the waldorf wavetable synths, like the microwave. The microwave xt has lots of knobs so programming is a breeze.

google waldorf microwave xt. you can get a used one for $500-700 on ebay.
Old 26th March 2007
Gear Addict