The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Dreamy pad sounds Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 19th June 2017
Here for the gear

Dreamy pad sounds

Hello everyone! This is my first post here and I'd like to ask you all for some tips and tricks for how to create certain synth pads.

The sound I'm going for is ambient, chill and dreamy (like the pad in the song "fallingforyou" by "the 1975", or the intro pad in "where the strets have no name" by "U2".

I'm currently using fm8 software but will receive a Roland Gaia later this week. I'm still pretty new to synth programming so please, give me your best advices!! Thank you.
Old 19th June 2017
Gear Guru

The key to this is the reverb, first and foremost.

As a starting point, I would choose "Daedalus II" in the factory preset list, and add reverb in the Effects panel. To increase the time the sound needs to reach full volume, go to the Easy panel, and turn up the A and R sliders in the "Amplitude Envelope".
Old 19th June 2017
Lives for gear

If you mean something like in my mp3 example below.
It is a supersaw plus a pulse wave, passed through a 12dB band pass filter.
That kind of filter is very useful for any synthesized "choir" sounds.
And of course a heavy amount of delay and reverb.
Attached Files

dreamy.mp3 (1.21 MB, 750 views)

Old 19th June 2017
Gear Maniac

Find your own signature pad sound. Scroll through presets and you'll find something you like. Get preset banks.
Old 19th June 2017
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoozer View Post
The key to this is the reverb, first and foremost.

As a starting point, I would choose "Daedalus II" in the factory preset list, and add reverb in the Effects panel. To increase the time the sound needs to reach full volume, go to the Easy panel, and turn up the A and R sliders in the "Amplitude Envelope".
Thank you for this answer, I'll make sure to try it.