The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
microKORG
Old 12th May 2017
Lives for gear

microKORG

Anyone own a microKORG, microKORG S or microKORG XL+? I have no prior synth experience and want to own 1 first synth as I already own a digital piano. Is it wise to replace the stock mic on the microKORGs?
Old 12th May 2017
For a first synth in that price range, I'd rather have a Minilogue. Way more real time control to get acquainted with sound design.
Old 12th May 2017
Lives for gear

If you're going to get any microKORG, get the original. Consensus is that one sounds the best.

Minilogue isn't a bad choice either, if you're OK with paying a bit more.
Old 12th May 2017
Lives for gear

Get the original microkorg as it lasts
Old 12th May 2017
Gear Guru
I agree with Minilogue....

Why would the original MicroKorg be better?
Old 12th May 2017
Lives for gear

Original microKORG is basically an MS2000 in a smaller box...the XL is...not.
Old 12th May 2017
Here for the gear

Consider also used Korg R3. Same engine, far easier editing and full sized keys.
Old 12th May 2017
Gear Guru
Oh... Missed the whole XL model being mentioned... Totally different beast
Old 12th May 2017
Here for the gear
I've been using the minilogue and was instantly drawn to it because of its knob layout. It's so much fun to mess around with this synth. You can get some WILD sounds ! It's also poly and mono too, which is a nice plus.
Old 12th May 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctrl+z View Post
Consider also used Korg R3. Same engine, far easier editing and full sized keys.
The R3 has the same engine as the Radias and XL.

The original MicroKorg is the same engine as the MS2000.

The Radias derived engine is more versatile and glossy sounding. The MS2000/MicroKorg arguably has more character.

The on board mics are absolutely fine for vocoding.
Old 12th May 2017
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by adydub View Post
The R3 has the same engine as the Radias and XL.