The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
MPC live Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 5 days ago
Gear Nut

As of August 2018 how is the MPC Live doing? In bad standing or 2nd to none for standalone beatmaking?

Ive read so many complaints about the software and hatdware that Im really hesitant to even consider buying one.

Now, is this a situation like the 2016/2017 Macbook Pro where 1 in 5 units has a defective keyboard and Apple just doesnt give damn lr is this something thst is being addressed by Akai or was solved in the meantime?

Whats the current consensus on the MPC Live. Worth the money? Bug free?
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

I like mine very much, but I'm still learning and trying it out in different ways. It's got huge potential, but it's missing features and I don't yet fully trust it for bigger projects. (YMMV, and many here are already happy.)

I'm cutting Akai some slack because it took the MV-8800 (which I had prior to the MPC Live) a lot of OS revisions to mature fully. So I hope Akai are still selling enough to justify putting more resources into developing the OS.
Old 5 days ago
Here for the gear

I'm happy user of this gear. I have issue with some things but in most cases it works.
Probably more reliable than combination of computer, controller, audio interface, usb hub and software.
One thing for sure akai is more a gear company then a software company. They still are not solid like NI or ableton when it comes to software/hardware hybrids.
Old 5 days ago
Still my favourite bit of gear. Just cableing up my new “studio”, looking forward to integrating the Live with my other kit.