The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Can you help me replicate these famous sounds on my Sub 37?
Old 6th January 2016
Gear Nut

Can you help me replicate these famous sounds on my Sub 37?

Hey!

I'm new to my Sub 37, and while it's fun twisting knobs and trying to figure out the sounds I want, I'm having trouble getting close to what I want.

Would anyone like to give input on how some of these famous sounds are made?
If you have time, as many details into the parameters would be GREATLY appreciated!

(or let me know if the sub 37 "can't" do any of these?)

boogie on reggae woman, stevie wonder

https://youtu.be/Tpt585iJjCk?t=35s

there's a recipe at the end, but my sub 37 doesn't have some of those parameters...

shut up and dance solo, walk the moon

https://youtu.be/mjdIJ5ZSpSk?t=1m47s
LOVE this lead!!!

snarky puppy, Lingus lead solos
https://youtu.be/L_XJ_s5IsQc?t=4m57s

and then at 6:18 he changes something... what is it?
https://youtu.be/L_XJ_s5IsQc?t=6m18s

and then finally, at 8:26 he tears it up w/ this sweet lead
https://youtu.be/L_XJ_s5IsQc?t=8m26s

Snarky Puppy, Kite
Quick little flute type sound
https://youtu.be/eFUOZ5PI3m8?list=PL...3oVDgl&t=2m25s

and a few random sounds i found...

https://youtu.be/aDXESToG4p8?t=14m58s

https://youtu.be/iOoFkWWdZAo?t=2m49s

https://youtu.be/aDXESToG4p8?t=17m4s

Thanks for any input!
Old 6th January 2016
Lives for gear

Doing all of the examples is a bit much, but I'll give you my rough and ready approximation of the "boogie on reggae woman, stevie wonder" sound in the video above.

This is a very basic and ubiquitous sound, and as such a good choice for an exercise. To make this, start with an init patch, then set the oscillators, mixer, filter and envelopes as shown (I've added markers set to zero to the the mod section amount knobs, just to indicate that none of them are in use).