The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Jeff Lynne drum sound samples / loops etc Drum Replacement Plugins
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Head

Jeff Lynne drum sound samples / loops etc

Greetings all..

Hello,

This is my first post!

Ive been reading the forums for months now mainly for views on computer technology equipment as I'm setting up my first home studio (at the age of 43!). I must say it's a mine of information and there are A LOT of very informative and skilled people on here.

This particular question relates to a specific drum sound.

I'm not a drummer (i'm a guitarist and average keyboard player) and have bought Jamstix 3 as a software drummer which I have to say I really like due to it's natural sounds and built in 'intelligent' drummer that even takes into account the mechanics of the human arm! Get that!!

Anyway, to get me going, I'm specifically looking for drum sounds that Jeff Lynne uses. Very heavy snare (compressed / gated / double tracked and through a 1176 compressor so I've been told - and probably even more of a conveluted formula than that), 'airy' trebbly hi hats and so forth.

Ideally I would find a way of re-creating (why I hear you ask ;-)) this myself but with everything else I need to get my head around, i wanted something very quick. I'm using Reaper as a DAW. I just wondered if anyone knows of any drum loops / wav files that are Jeff Lynne loops? His drums are never complicated and it's more about the sound than the complexity of the beat. I'm thinking more modern recent stuff like he's used on Tom Petty, Julianna Rae, The Beatles Anthology, Rossif Sutherland).