The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What kind of shoes do you play drums with? Condenser Microphones
Old 20th August 2011
Lives for gear

What kind of shoes do you play drums with?

Please share your experiences! I've been wearing the traditional Chuck Taylor's since 1994. Dig them because of the thin soles. What's your preference, and why?
Old 20th August 2011
Gear Guru

These days, whatever shoes I have on my feet when I sit down at the kit.

I once used to Think About Shoes in relation to the pedals, and experiment with different shoes - generally the lighter the better and usually looking for very smooth 'slippery' soles.

I even considered buying this brand of 'drumming shoes' I saw advertised in Modern Drummer Magazine, which were super light - similar to Table Tennis shoes - i.e. just about "rubber socks".

Then one day I went to see Tony Williams perform. Up until that show I had only heard him on records, and I had assumed he played double-kick.

But no, he did everything on the record (and MORE!) with one bass drum. The whole time, he was wearing lace-up paratrooper boots. Not only big and heavy with grippy soles, but obviously rigid with less flexibility in the ankles than anything on the market. But his kick was AMAZING!

That left me dazed and confused on the "Performance Shoes" front. I guess I ultimately decided that shoes don't count for much unless you are walking in them.
Old 21st August 2011
i don't where 1 shoe in particular but i dig thin soles something not to gripy so i can slide or twist my foot. No pointy toes and no heel. And something that i can lace up nice and tight so my foot and shoe feel as one heh.

I had a dw 9000 pedal once and the toe part of my shoe use to get stuck between the posts on the pedal it's thinner there than any of their other pedals for some reason.

At the moment I'm using these