The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Best LDC for Kick-Out
Old 16th June 2019
Here for the gear

Best LDC for Kick-Out

Hello guys, I'm still new at recording/mixing and I'm looking for a large diaphragm condenser to use as a kick-out mic. I'm looking for something with a good bass response, that can handle huge amounts of SPL (I believe around 140 dB would be ok), since I record mostly pop/rock and metal music. I already own an AKG D112 for kick-in applications, to get that "clicky" sound, so now I want something outside to give me some bottom-end and some air too. I also plan to buy an EV RE20 sometime in the future, but my current preamps don't have enough gain for it right now. So in the future, I plan on using the AKG D112 for kick-in, the RE20 for kick-out (close) and this LDC for kick-out (far) or even FOK (front-of-kit). Therefore I'm looking for some advice on a good LDC for kick-out applications, around 1000 euros (I can go up to 1300 euros maximum).

I've already done some research on the topic and I've found some options, so you can also give me your opinion on these: Mojave MA-300 Tube Microphone; Neumann TLM107; Roswell Delphos II; Lauten Audio Clarion FC-357; JZ Microphones BH1S; Shure KSM44A.

Of course I'm looking for a kick-out mic, but if the mic also excells on other sound sources (like vocals) it would be even better, so versatility is also a plus factor.
Thanks in advance.
Old 16th June 2019
Gear Guru

Quote:
Of course I'm looking for a kick-out mic, but if the mic also excells on other sound sources (like vocals) it would be even better, so versatility is also a plus factor.

I have used a number of LDCs for kick out and they all have performed well. I have used Neumann U87, Bock 195, AKG 414 - all sound really good in that position. I get pretty picky about inside kick mics, but outside I feel there is a lot more leeway.