The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
E-Music VS. I-Tunes regarding $$$
Old 26th November 2007
Lives for gear

E-Music VS. I-Tunes regarding $$$

1st off, thanks for taking time to do this guys!

I am an independent artist who does electronic music (Ambient, world-beat, tribal, used to even be called New Age back in the early-mid '90s).

Anyway, my question is, most of the songs on my (and my groups) albums are anywhere from 6 to 20 min. long, and I even have a CD that is one track (62min).

I know that if I put my back catalog on I-Tunes I will still sell CDs for $9.99 regardless of the number of tracks or their length, but what about a service like E-Music which sells a subscription and then you get a set number of down loads every month...meaning if I put up my single track ambient album on E-music, people get to download it for ... one download.

What does an artist get paid in this case...technically its an album, but in reality its one track.

I see tons of ambient, world and classical cds which all fall into his category.

Will I get burned putting this cd up on E-Music?

What is your advice?

Thanks,

Paul
Old 26th November 2007
Founder CD Baby

Smile sell everywhere possible

I'm sure someone else will answer the Emusic pricing details (my guy at CD Baby who has the pricing contract isn't awake yet), so instead let me offer up a related point:

You won't get screwed putting your music up for sale at Emusic, even though they pay less.

You won't get screwed putting your music on subscription services like Rhapsody or Napster, even though they only pay 1-2 cents per play.

Reason being, subscribers to these services often get ALL of their music there and ONLY there. So if you're not there, they'll shrug and never hear you.