The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Soundcraft 200B project form a designers point of view.
Old 26th June 2014
Gear Maniac

Soundcraft 200B project form a designers point of view.

Hi all, I was thinking of putting my thoughts on this site while embarking on a journey with a project was perhaps a good idea.
My background is high end developper and I lack experience on things like mixers.
Please refrain from negative comments about what I am telling is nonsense.
My intention is to give a peek into my way of thinking.
For me it is real, and I don't really care about people who think I am nuts, or a spinner.
I am not native English speaking, so forgive my faults in that area.

So: I finally found (by accident, as it should) the ideal mixer for modyfying.

What are the good things about the Soundcraft 200B 16 ch, what makes it ideal for me?
1) It's mechanical sturdy build
2) Modular, so easy to work on
3) All analoge, even the metering.
4) 16 ch is the sweet spot for me: 8 ch not usable, 24 channel not needed
5) Well designed: no obvious faults found in the design till now, and that is quite an exception!
6) Perfect faders and good pots, though some switches need to be replaced.
7) External (analog) power supply.
8) right time area: no SMD, no special parts
9) Schematics available! Saves tons of time, no need to reverse engineer.

The mixer is well worth the investment of time and money as it will be able to function many decades again after the modding.

An high-end persective: I like the PCB's floating in air, not mounted near ALU (for the most part).

Looking at the design, again it is all very functional and straight forward: very well done!!
Old 26th June 2014
Gear Maniac

First work was on the power supply. The +48V supply was totally ruined. I restored it.
The standard BD135 is substandard and should be replaced by a BD139. (see another post from me elsewhere)
Impressions: the case is vibrating: wrong!!