The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
AMPEX MM-1100 16 Track
Old 14th August 2017
Gear Head

AMPEX MM-1100 16 Track

I just scored an Ampex MM-1100 16 track tape machine and need some help sourcing parts. it came with all the good back up stuff tension arms, ect,,, to much to list. one issue it the supply reel has a slight bend on the top at the knob turntable assembly and if I have to replace the motor that wont be easy to find. any help with leads or can i swap out the shaft? I'm new to 2" tape repair so please anything is better then nothing
Attached Thumbnails
AMPEX MM-1100 16 Track-img_4336.jpg   AMPEX MM-1100 16 Track-img_4337.jpg  
Old 10th October 2017
Gear Nut

I have a spare left hand MM-1100 torque motor. Let me know if you still need this.

David
Old 9th December 2017
Gear Head

Picked up two motors and a meter bridge couple months ago.
Thanks David. But if you have any other parts I might be interested (Transport Control PCB )
Old 23rd February 2018
Gear Head

Wanted Ampex MM-1100 Transport Control Card

I have 3 cards all are modded and super trashed. Any leads would be appreciated.
Old 1st September 2018
Lives for gear

I’ll be following thread so please keep posting your progress. I’m he’ll bent on an Ampex mm1100 or 1200 or and MCI jh16 all discrete. Preferably an Ampex but people don’t let them go.
Old 15th September 2018
Gear Head

Just Sold the Ampex to a friend, picked up a JH16 (Older JH100)
Some think they are a nightmare but doing a total restore Harder to get parts, and many other issues. Model 0273 Year 1975
Old 16th September 2018
Lives for gear

I track both for parts on the bay and I think JH16’s are easier to find parts for. You didn’t happen to buy the one on Reverb for $1500? I was watching that one. Too far of a drive from Central Texas or I would have jumped on it.
Old 16th September 2018
Gear Head