The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Black Box Analog Design - the secret files
Old 21st February 2016
Gear Addict

Black Box Analog Design - the secret files

Greetings,

With the success of the Black Box, the IMT, the Dynatron and the HG-2 under my belt, I decided that it was time for something new. After all, I've learned a lot these past few years and I'm ready to put it to the test and see what comes out of the other end. With that said, come along for the ride and watch a microphone preamp go from an idea to reality.

Step one: This is my humble little shop down by the beach in sunny Ventura, CA. which is about an hour North of Los Angeles.

It isn't much but it is enough to do what I wish to do.

So, a couple of tubes I've never worked with before have arrived in the mail and it was time to get busy. I found some old copper clad proto stuff from years back and put in new tube sockets. I dropped in a regulator for the heaters and some variable resistors to control plate and cathode.

Here you can see the power supply, suicide plug, and even the first sine wave appearing on the scope. Also, there seems to be more parts. How did that happen?

Gosh, why stop there? Lets just fill my desk with parts.

This, you should know, is happening over the course of days and here you can see a slightly neater desk and the addition of input and output transformers as I'm now looking at balanced inputs and outputs.

Now I've put this all on a heavy piece of cardboard so I can move it around and test it in my main Protools testing rig.

Ok, back from testing and I'm happy with what I am seeing so far. I need to build a prototype rig that I can take to a recording session on Monday. That gives me, what, two days? I'm screwed.