The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Live PA Techno Set - Mixing into Compressor.
Old 28th May 2014
Lives for gear
Live PA Techno Set - Mixing into Compressor.

As a techno artist I found that if I play after a DJ, my music by comparison just never sounded as ... deep ... as "in the pocket". Too many sharp attack transients.

So a few years ago I started using an RNC on my mix bus. Not a lot of compression, maybe about 3 dB, on a ratio of about 2:1, with a medium-fast attack ("super nice" seems too slow to me).

So I got used to mixing into the compressor when I play live. This has really helped, except when I have a quiet passage or a breakdown, the program volume swells audibly because the beat is no longer working the compressor. Then, when I bring it back, the impact of dropping a really heavy beat is lessened because the compressor immediately jumps on it.

So ... I got to thinking: maybe I should try mixing the dry signal in with the compressed signal, a la New York / Parallel compression. It sounds easy enough, but I like the compression to be set-and-forget when I'm playing, I'm considering experimenting with this. Any thoughts or recommendations? Would another compressor be more suited to the task?

Since I need to mix the compressed signal with the uncompressed before it goes into the house mixer / DJ mixer / whatever I'm plugged into, I'm particularly wondering what would be a suitable product for that. It has to be a compact, transparent-sounding, and not-too-expensive line mixer suitable for summing the two stereo signals.
Old 28th May 2014
You should find one that has a foot pedal to change the settings. Recent Lexicons have DBX Compression.

Lexicon MX400 has a Foot Pedal: 1/4 in. phone jack option. But the specific footswitch seems out of production: Lexicon Lexdfs Footswitch | Performance Audio
Old 28th May 2014
Lives for gear