The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advise on what to buy to achieve my goals
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Advise on what to buy to achieve my goals

Hi all,

I am new to making music, have little experience, other than playing classical piano.
My goal is to create EDM/hardstyle/bigroom/etc songs without a DAW (nothing pro or live playing, just individual songs for fun). As I understood from other posts, creating the kickdrum is near impossible in this genre, without a DAW, so I've accepted that I'll have to use samples. That's ok for now.

So far I've been toying with a Roland JD-xi and a SP404 sampler. I like the fastness of the JD-xi, but the lack of knobs and sliders forces the use of an editor (which I have), but also entangles me to a computer. I couldn't work with the SP404, so I sold it to create some more budget for the next investment. With this investment, I request for your help and advice.

Although there are similarities with the SP404, I'm almost sure I'll be buying an Akai MPC One (the visuals on screen is just what the sp404 lacked for me).
What I'm not sure about is which additional gear/synth will best help me get the job done (EDM leads, backing strings, noise, baselines, filter sweeps for up and down lifters and so on).

What I've come up with so far:

- Roland SE-02 in combination with Novation 61SL MK3
or
- Roland System-8
or
- ASM Hydrasynth Desktop (second hand) in combination with Arturia Keylab 61 Essential
or
- Access Virus (second hand) in combination with Arturia Keylab 61 Essential

As most people producing this genre use DAWs, there's very little information I could find. The total budget (including MPC One) is 1900 euro's.

Please let me know if you think the MPC One will be the most user friendly central song/production unit, which gear will be a userfriendly buddy to achieve my goals?