The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Limiting on every channel? (House, Piano House, deep house etc..)
Old 10th May 2020
Here for the gear

Limiting on every channel? (House, Piano House, deep house etc..)

Hi guys, im no pro at mixing, but i've got a question for anybody on here who produces electronic music (House, Piano House, deep house etc..)

When mixing i've always been advised not to use a limiter on seperate channels, however sometimes ill use them to catch peaks etc and thats about it.

However ive heard lots of people use limiters on separate channels to achieve loudness, as these genres of music unfortunately are usually all about loudness.

I always thought that loudness could be achieved with mastering as long as you have a good mix with good use of eq, saturation, compression etc.

A few tracks that im referring to are tracks like these, and if its just the mastering that makes them loud, use of compression or limiting:

https://soundcloud.com/spinninrecord...-crazy-out-now

https://soundcloud.com/joelcorry/lonely

https://soundcloud.com/fourofdiamonds/let-me-love-you

Then you have mine which in comparison is fairly quiet compared:

https://soundcloud.com/dean-lee-offi...e-to-copyright

Any help or advise would be massively appreciated
Old 13th May 2020
Lives for gear

Honestly leave that for the mastering engineer!
Old 14th May 2020
Lives for gear

Chop off the very top of your own head, then you will be louder
Old 15th May 2020
Gear Head

Hey man,

Just listened to your remix, and the other tracks. There is a distinct lack of dynamics in both your own and the other, so it gets me thinking:

"If everything is loud, is anything loud at all?"

Humans don't have an RMS meter in our heads, we experience 'perceived loudness' and one sure fire way to have elements appear loud is to arrange them alongside/within elements/musical passages that are not so 'loud'.

I reckon the way is to make friends with dynamics rather than squash every peak in sight.