The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Aphex Twin Drums
Old 23rd February 2020
Here for the gear

Aphex Twin Drums

Might have already been asked, but all I could find on here were questions about EQUIPMENT used to create Aphex or Squarepusher type drums. My question is, what is the best way to internalize these types of incredibly complicated rhythms with continuous variation and a lack of obvious repetition? I'm talking specifically about the Drukqs album. It's something I'd like to emulate (not shamelessly but for learning). I'm sure there's a chance that Aphex created scripts to generate his rhythms, but I haven't heard of him doing so and instinct tells me that everything is intentional and the result of hours of hard work and raw intelligence and creativity. I'm pretty new to this type of music so I didn't have the benefit of growing up and absorbing it through osmosis. Are there any patterns these types of artists follow in terms of structure or is the structure just continuous free variation?
Old 25th February 2020
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by artist202 View Post
Might have already been asked, but all I could find on here were questions about EQUIPMENT used to create Aphex or Squarepusher type drums. My question is, what is the best way to internalize these types of incredibly complicated rhythms with continuous variation and a lack of obvious repetition? I'm talking specifically about the Drukqs album. It's something I'd like to emulate (not shamelessly but for learning). I'm sure there's a chance that Aphex created scripts to generate his rhythms, but I haven't heard of him doing so and instinct tells me that everything is intentional and the result of hours of hard work and raw intelligence and creativity. I'm pretty new to this type of music so I didn't have the benefit of growing up and absorbing it through osmosis. Are there any patterns these types of artists follow in terms of structure or is the structure just continuous free variation?