The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
XLR to 3.5 mm question Audio Interfaces
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head
XLR to 3.5 mm question

Hi

I have modified a mono 3.5 mm jack -> XLR male

I needed to exchange the xlr male connector to a female connector. So I switched the xlr connector and resoldered.

Since I'm not very experienced in soldering or how xlr cables work this was a bit of an experiment for me.

I got the soldering quite ok, but when testing a microphone (sennheiser e 835) the incoming signal is really low. What could be the reason for this? Does the mic need phantom power in order to work correctly?

Again, I'm not so experienced in this area :-)
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

The e835 is a dynamic microphone and does not need phantom power.

What sort of input are you connecting it to? A dynamic microphone's output is a quite low-level signal.
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Head
Thanks for your reply :-)

I'm using it to take up sound in the environment, want to use my iphone as a field recorder for a sound design project.

I do get a signal on my iphone (using the native recording app). But I'm little bit worried that the signal will be to low so I'm not going be able to take it up to a good level in the post processing without also getting noise (I need a good recording)
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Addict

So, an iPhone. The input there is designed for a condenser microphone, such as is typically used with headphones/headsets. Your dynamic microphone puts out a significantly lower signal than those microphones, so you get a quieter recording.