The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which cables? Studio Monitors
Old 5 days ago
Gear Head
Which cables?

Hi, I’m about to order the Behringer umc404HD to record a volca and po-33 into my daw. Just got some few questions cause the fact I’m a newbie.

Both volca and Po-33 are mono, but the outputs are mini jacks. I have a few standard 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable and a couple of adapters from 3.5mm to 6.3mm. The behringer got 4 combo xlr inputs. I don’t know if those inputs can handle a stereo signal, although the sounds they both produce are mono. Does this work and if not what cables do I need?

Also the main outs are 6.3mm or XLR. The device also has playback outputs which goes with RCA. I already have some good rca cables for my monitors, but no 6.3mm or RCA cables. For what purpose are those playback outs?

Those Inserts on the back are for external hardware like mixers isn’t it? So if I want to connect something like the Behringer micromix to it for extra inputs, does this go thru the combo xlr inputs or the inserts?
Old 5 days ago
Gear Addict
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coenf99 View Post
Both volca and Po-33 are mono, but the outputs are mini jacks. I have a few standard 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable and a couple of adapters from 3.5mm to 6.3mm. The behringer got 4 combo xlr inputs. I don’t know if those inputs can handle a stereo signal, although the sounds they both produce are mono. Does this work and if not what cables do I need?
No. The inputs on the umc404HD are balanced mono.
You would need to split the stereo signal into two unbalanced signals or just use one of them (if they are mono anyway).
Something like this.

Quote:
Also the main outs are 6.3mm or XLR. The device also has playback outputs which goes with RCA. I already have some good rca cables for my monitors, but no 6.3mm or RCA cables. For what purpose are those playback outs?