The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How to: Building ELCO/EDAC snakes Digital Converters
Old 7th February 2016
Lives for gear

How to: Building ELCO/EDAC snakes

I'm going to write a little 'how to' here, on the way I've personally found best to build EDAC/ELCO snakes. I found it extremely difficult to find any resources on the internet that were very detailed on building them, so I decided it may be helpful to someone to compile everything that I've learned in one place. That being said, I am by no means an expert at doing this - though I also assume anyone actually searching for how to build an EDAC/ELCO snake won't be either. If anyone wants to leave comments on different approaches or ways they find faster, feel free.

As a disclaimer, I don't actually recommend anyone doing this. It's repetitive, time consuming work. It's not exactly 'difficult' to do (other than actually crimping the pins, which is EXTREMELY hard on your hand), but screwing up just one of 72 crimps is going to give you big problems. Looking at the images, this might look easy - but the time between the first and last image was 7:56 to 9:03. It took 1 hour just to crimp 12 of the conductors, and this is after I've been building them days straight.

First I'm going to list what I'm working with to build.

I'm using TGS-24 cable from Redco, the PTS-10 thermal wire stripper from Patco, the 'EDAC' crimp tool (same one sold from Redco), 1/8" shrink tubing (the dimensions suggested by Redco for their cable), and the 1.75" cut PTFE tubing from Redco (which is NOT the correct length, more on that later).

The first topic is going to be dimensions. ProCo has a whole bunch of PDFs online with the pin outs as well as the 'prep lengths' for all sizes of ELCO connectors. Since I'm building 90 pin, the document I have been referencing is here: