The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Exchange Of Skills?
Old 14th March 2020
Exchange Of Skills?

Hey guys, I was wondering if there's any area of the forum pertaining to an exchange of skills? Or in fact is this the right section for that? Is this something people are doing at all?

My situation is that I am a guitarist by trade for a living, but I have set up my own studio and had to marathon learn everything in the past 6-12 months.

I am now producing songs on no budget, from start to finish, by myself.

However, to do performing, composing, arranging, tracking of myself and other instruments, editing, mixing, mastering, video shooting, video editing, management, marketing / promotion, admin, graphic design, managing online presence, etc., and a whole host of other stuff by myself is pretty insane and basically impossible. It literally just means that there's so much to do, none of it gets done.

In the last few weeks, I have done a ton of tracking, but there's no way to deal with all this stuff at the same time.

I was wondering if there's a way to outsource some of the tasks that I might be less good at and that might require less artistic judgement in return for skills I can offer. I am sure there are many people that require assistance too and can't afford it?

For example, if I could find someone to do track editing (for example drum editing) for me it would just take a huge load from me that has little to do with the creative process and would allow me to blast the other areas more. That's just one example, but my point is that it might be mutually beneficial if we can exchange what we are not so good at in return for what we are good at and help each other get better results in whatever we are trying to do.