The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Issues Combining Multiple Tracks in Reaper?
Old 19th April 2019
Here for the gear

Issues Combining Multiple Tracks in Reaper?

Hey all,

This is my first post! I'm a total newbie to audio recording and I've been appreciating all the contributions, advice, and info on the gearslutz forums so far. Thank you!

I'm trying to combine multiple tracks on Reaper. I have a Master Track and four duplicates of that track. The timing is lined up for all of them. On each of the four duplicates, different frequencies have been isolated using ReaXComp and this tutorial: YouTube. The Master Track has been left undisturbed.

On one of the duplicates, I have tweaked a small range with a fade. When I hit "Play" and listen to all of the duplicates at the same time, with the Master Track muted, it sounds good. I got the result I wanted. Now I want to mash all these tracks back together and hear them all on one track.

Most of the posts I see about merging tracks talk about dragging and dropping into one track, or enabling free-item positioning. However, when I try either of these things and then solo the track I just dumped everything on, the sound is completely different. Some tracks are being favoured over others.

I did not change the volume of the individual racks, aside from the small fade, and again, when I "Play" them together as separate tracks, it sounds great. I want it to sound the same when I layer/merge/group/glue/[insert correct term here] the tracks.

The reason I need them to be one track is because I'll then need to take the little region I did my tweaking in, and replace that section of the Master Track with it - but that should be as simple as "cut selection and leave space" on the Master Track + "copy selection" on the complete merged edited track.