The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Help with downloading vst plug ins for reaper
Old 18th October 2018
Here for the gear

Help with downloading vst plug ins for reaper

It's my first time ever downloading a DAW and trying to put vst plug in using reaper. I tried to download a simple acoustic piano plug in from the website "vst4free".
But when I did I used the vst preferences as a video tutorial explained after I downloaded I couldn't find the plug in anywhere so I thought maybe my midi keyboard wasn't working but it was working quite fine when I used the synthesizer plug in so the midi controller isn't the problem.

I thought maybe something went wrong in the process of downloaded so I deleted the file and downloaded again but still I can't find the vst.

Could someone tell me why this is happening and how they download their plug-ins then implement them to reaper?
Old 18th October 2018
I'm not familiar with Reaper specifically, but most vst plugs will download to a default folder, something like 'Steinberg/vstplugins' maybe. Look for a .dll file of the missing plug and check to see where Reaper wants plugins. It might be a folder called "VSTs' or 'Effects' or something. Just copy the .dll file to Reapers VST folder, restart, and you should be good.
Old 10th December 2018
Gear Addict