The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Ed, how do you get that "CLICK/SNAP" on drum tracks?
Old 11th November 2005
Gear addict

Ed, how do you get that "CLICK/SNAP" on drum tracks?

I've got a question that has been haunting me for a while.

Getting great drum tones on tape is paramount of course but how do you get that snap/click sound out of the Toms/Snare/Kick etc. on the attack? I’m a drummer so to me the “pop” sounds unnatural on modern pop/rock records but very pleasing.

I've tried my own techniques to achieve this with EQ and compression but just can't quite get it. I remember seeing a thread about this many moons ago somewhere. The guy explaining it talked about cloning tracks and using gates on the transients etc. Is there an easier way to achieve it? Do you process the attack only? Could a transient designer be all I need to get "that sound"?
Old 11th November 2005
Guest Moderator