The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How much to charge for home studio recording. Studio Monitors
Old 20th January 2012
Gear Head

How much to charge for home studio recording.

I know that this is somewhat an almost unanswerable question for the most part as it is amount of quality gear as well as reputation. But if i can get a rough estimate that would be great!

I've been doing project recordings for about 4-5 years now. I'm about to graduate with my bachelors degree in Recording Arts / Music Producing. I also went to a performing arts high school where i studied piano and guitar.

I have played piano and guitar for ten years. Bass and Drums for about 5 years.

I own 5 electric guitars my best of which is a fender american custom stratocaster. I own one american fender jazz bass. And one ddrum 4 piece kit with paiste cymbals.

After graduation i will have about a 10-12 mic collection all suited for recording drums gutars bass and other acoustic instruments and i also plan to acoustically treat my studio as well as build a drum booth and vocal/guitar booth. I currently Use a presonus firestudio interface with 8 inputs through firewire. AMT 8 Midi Interface. For my synths and midi controllers i use the roland fantom x8, microkorg, Electribes EMX and ESX. I use KRK rokit 8's as my monitors and i am saving up to purchase a pair of Yamaha HS50's and a Universal Audio 6176 pramp and compressor.

So with all this gear and experience with recording/writing/producing songs. What should I charge for someone who just wants to record and master a song? and also what should i charge for someone like a singer who wants me to full on produce and write a song as well as record and master?

Thanks to anyone that replies!
Old 20th January 2012
Gear Head

silly me