The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Market Research: Studio owners share your advice Spatial Processor Plugins
Old 1st October 2011
Market Research: Studio owners share your advice

Long story short, I've been working towards owning my own studio since about 2007 when I started collecting gear and learning the art of recording. Now, in order to build the studio I need a small business loan and for that I need to write a business plan.

I'll be honest, the business side of this adventure is boring, albeit necessary. So I am looking for some advice to help me put together this business plan as well as to gain some insight into what I should be prepared for.

I have a couple of questions that I would really appreciate some answers to:

• What reoccurring expenses, if any, do you face as a studio owner? Rent and utils are a given and I don't plan on hiring anyone. What I'm interested in is more about unforeseen expenses such as gear repair.
  • What other one time expenses might I want to factor in? (Note here: acoustic treatment is in the build budget.) I already have the equipment needed to facilitate my studio. So gear lust aside, should I be prepared for anything else?
  • How long was it until your studio became profitable?
  • What are the common studio rates in your area? Or if you care to, elaborate on how you break down studio time cost.
  • Do you experience busier times of the year? For example, do you get more work in the summer months than the winter months.
  • What sort of advertising or marketing effort do you put into your business?
These questions should hopefully help me advance on market research. However, I am also open to reading about success stories, trials and tribulations, and any other advice you might want to share.

Thank you so much for the help.
Old 1st October 2011
Gear Addict