The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Just opened a new studio... about to go red for first time.
Old 28th May 2020
Just opened a new studio... about to go red for first time.

Feeling frustrated... This year will be the first time I've gone red on the books. Currently in the black but one or two months away from the red. Not sure how to feel about this? It could be worse, and many have lost more... so I'm not complaining, but feel the need to vent and looking for wise words from other's experiences.

I've been a working musician for 20yrs. I first formed my company in 2008 to score a film, and make taxes easier. Opened my first Micro Studio (2 small rooms) in 2012, and in Nov 2019 decided to move to a much larger Medium Size studio (multi room, three isos, Studio A and B setup). We did a few good projects in Jan and Feb, but have been shut down since March. Pulled a few small mixing jobs during shutdown, but it's mostly dead. Definitely no recording.

Now... I'm feeling forced to turn it back on and attempt to book sessions, but not sure I feel good about that just yet. Also wrestling with the decision to abandon ship, and return to a small home rig with a lot of gear going into storage. It's been a dream to open a place like this, and never really got to use it.... As of right now, we're planning to use a loan to float it and extend the lease, but this is THE WORST climate to try and make it work.
Old 28th May 2020
Lives for gear

Sit with your accountant. A loan for a lease may not be the best idea.
Old 28th May 2020
Gear Head

NYC is a tough spot. But, things appear to be loosening a bit, so who knows? On the plus side, I know plenty of musicians who tried DIY during the lockdown; in the process they gained MORE respect for the pros, which will certainly help when things begin to normalize. I hope you find a way to keep afloat while waiting for the inevitable (IMO) return to being as busy as ever.
Best of luck!
Old 29th May 2020