The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Anxiety while waiting the mix feedback
Old 6th August 2019
Lives for gear

Anxiety while waiting the mix feedback

Hello guys !!!

I've been doing this mixing thing for almost 20 years, it's been 17 years since my first mix was released, and I'm mixing professionally full time last 10 years.

As time flies, I'm getting more known and more popular clients.

98% of the mixes I send are approved, of course some minor revisions are always there, but 98% of the time people like it. And also, more importantly people keep coming back, I have very high rate of people coming back, which I mostly think is due to my commitment to make clients feel happy and safe.

My question is clear, the one in the topic, even after 17 years of mixing, and thousands songs, I still have big anxiety while sending the mix and waiting the clients response, even though I know that 98% of time it'll be approved

The reason why I'm asking this in audio board, and not in some psychiatry board is because I read Andrew Scheps saying this:

"...The other is my never ending self-doubt and lack of self-confidence. I sent a mix off yesterday and had the exact same adrenaline rush as I did when I first started."

Is this a thing with all of you guys, or majority of you, or some of you ?

Or should I (and Andrew also) go see a shrink ?

Let's go :D
Old 8th August 2019
Here for the gear

Imposter syndrome/related feelings are super real - I feel them all the time! On the bright side, it means that you're working hard and you care. But definitely try to find some ways to boost your self-belief
Old 8th August 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanZoo View Post
I've been doing this mixing thing for almost 20 years, it's been 17 years since my first mix was released (...)should I (and Andrew also) go see a shrink ?
i've been in this business about twice as long.