The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
2 years in USA ,what can I do?
Old 20th March 2019
Here for the gear

2 years in USA ,what can I do?

Hi,I'm lestat, from ShangHai China.
I have been a audio engineer about 5 years.I have my studio in ShangHai.And work with 2 recording studio.
My wife is a designer.She want to come to USA got a Degree.And we didn't know which college she will go yet.
But we know that we will be live here 2 years.
So what can I do in these 2 years?
Should I go to MI got a AA Audio Engineer program or the 6 month certificate program?
Should I find a local studio and work in there?
Or go to some course like"mix with the master?"
Which one will be more useful?
sorry for my poor English.Thank you guys for reading.
hope I can get some advise from you.
Old 1st April 2019
Here for the gear

GUYS?
Old 1st April 2019
Lives for gear
Are you planning on returning to China after the two years are up?

I would think about which skills are going to earn you more money when you get back to China.
Then I would book a course that will give you that skill set.

If you've been an engineer for 5 years then you already have the basics.

Also I wouldn't learn gear that you won't have access to when you get home,
in other words there's no point in getting skilled up on an SSL desk if there aren't any back home - just as an example.

From your list, "mixing with the masters" sounds like a very marketable skill to have acquired for your work going forward.

Good luck with your adventure.
Old 2nd April 2019
Here for the gear

thehightenor,thanks for your answering.
I will returning China after 2 years.But I think, in this age, our work didn't limit in regions and countries.So I might sill can work for American clients.