The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Studio rates and Value Spatial Processor Plugins
Old 2nd March 2019
Lives for gear

Studio rates and Value

I'm going live with the below video tomorrow and implementing the plan for 2019. Call it harebrained or a social experiment, but for the rest of the year I'm not going to have a rate. I'm going to leave it up to customers to decide what they want to pay and just go with it. There might be people that pay nothing, there might be people who pay more, but I'm just going to jump in and see what happens.

This isn't a part time job for me or anything, this is how I eat and pay bills. MillSounds Studio is only 2 years old, but I've been doing this professionally for 15 years now. At the same time, I'm doing well right now and can take the risk of giving this a shot. I got the idea from Damien Keyes video that blew up entitled "Stop Selling Music" (YouTube). It made me think more about the concept of value and how we apply it in the music industry. In a nutshell, I think one of the biggest problems is that we don't know how to define and apply value to a lot of areas in music. Everything's all over the place and no one really knows what they're doing or what they're worth.