The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Do I Ask For a Studio Job or Internship?
Old 21st December 2018
Here for the gear

Do I Ask For a Studio Job or Internship?

Hello! I'm a 20 year old engineer/producer enrolled at a university for music production. I'm about to start my 4th semester but the only problem is I find it pointless and a waste of money. I could teach myself these things much faster on my own time and simply by experiencing it in the real world. So I plan on dropping out and diving right into the industry. Besides auditioning and making it into this program my resume includes a year long internship that I did in high school at a local recording studio and 2 EPs and 1 album that I wrote, recorded and mixed.

Would this be good enough to ask to be hired in some way at a recording studio? Or do I have to just get an internship even though I already completed one? If I'm going to drop out of college and potentially move I would really like to get paid.

Thanks!
Old 21st December 2018
Lives for gear

do studios hire nowadays?
Old 24th December 2018
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by 17shankooln View Post
Would this be good enough to ask to be hired in some way at a recording studio?
The best thing you can do is basically some sort of outside sales. Almost any studio (doing music at least) pretty much has the current work load covered. Going in there to ask for a job is just asking to have us give some of our work (and income) to you...

If you want income, the most direct path is to go to a few studios and tell them you are going to go hustle up work, and ask if they are willing to find a way to make that fit into what they are doing. Then go do it.