The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Assistant Superhero
Old 11th December 2018
Here for the gear

Assistant Superhero

Hey Everybody!

TLDR: What traits are you looking for in an assistant?

A few months ago, I entered a work relationship with a very nice studio, in which I trade electrical services for studio time. (I'm an electrical engineering student)
Also, I assist some of the sessions if there's demand, as well as take some of the jobs from time to time.
Lately, I started looking for an assistant myself for some bigger sessions and found one from one of the local engineering schools.
Even though I've been assisting quite a few sessions, having an assistant myself showed me an entirely different perspective. First of all, I wasn't really happy with him as an assistant, because he did the following:

- BIGGIE: Talking to me about something while I am working on another problem
- Generally standing and sitting in the way too much
- No real sense for hospitality for the talent
- Being too excited, started to F**** beatbox while I try to listen to what's going on. (While kinda funny, also a bit awkward)
- Asking too many questions in moments of concentration.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm ok with people needing time to fit in the work, so I gave him the harsh feedback, but also consider to get him for another session for another chance.

Anyways, I believe this shift of perspective, also makes me a better assistant. It gives me a better understanding of what engineers want from assistant and what they don't.
Most importantly probably, if not asked, be interested but almost invisible unless asked for and be a good host.