The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Pricing question: Production "Arranger"
Old 23rd April 2018
Gear Head

Pricing question: Production "Arranger"

Hey,

I'm a freelance music producer/track maker.

The problem
I've come to a situation where a client of mine is asking me to take over music that's created by a different producer/track maker.
From the work scope, it seems like I'll be taking over the project but as an Arranger.

I have no idea how much to charge (Hourly, by %, by % of original producers cost, etc.).

Ok. so, what are you working with?
I have the freedom to be as creative as if it's my original work. The below scope is not definite and should be worked on if I feel its necessary to improve the music.

The work scope pretty much looks something like this:
- Moving sections and blocks around.
- Add and/or Replace Instrumentation.
- Adding FX's, turnarounds, transitions, ghost notes, etc to enhance groove and musicality.
- Add appropriate cliches and current trends to form production identity.
- Tune and Comp recorded vocal takes.

Some things I can't really mess with are Chord Progressions, hooks and maybe re-recording Vocals.

What are you thinking?
I'm thinking of asking my client how much the original producer charged and charge 50% of that or 100%. ie: (Original/Me) - 100/50 or 100/100.
However, this method and the hourly method totally depends on the workload which I won't know for certain until I start working on it. Which means, if I go the hourly route, its possible my client may end up paying more than what they've already spent on the original (which, IMO, won't look attractive)...And then I get stuck on moving forward...

Any thoughts?

Best,
Old 2nd September 2018
Lives for gear

I think it depends on your usual rates, your skill level, your relationship with the artist, and how much work needs to be done.