The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Acoustic Foam
Old 21st August 2006
Gear Head

Acoustic Foam

I just picked up six pieces of acoustic foam to put around my living room. My goal was to deaden the room a bit for recording vocals and guitar. The foam didn't really seem to have any effect on the sound. I think I'm going to take it back. It there anything someone could recommend that would be better? Something portable and cheap would be ideal. I should point out that the room sounds ok to me without anything - but I'm a beginner, so...
Old 21st August 2006
Lives for gear

Hard to make a recommendation without knowing the room size and all the other details.

However, in general, OC 703 2" will provide some good relatively broadband absorbtion at a reasonable cost. You'll want to cover in cloth and potentially frame it.

For a bit more (but no need to wrap and frame), you can use 3lb density acoustical cotton. It comes in several colors and is completely a 'green' product. No itch, no shedding, etc.

Bryan
Old 21st August 2006

Take the foam and put it all in one corner. Then, experement with with singing into or out of that corner with the mic in various positions.

The rockwool or OC 703 will work better than the foam unless you got the stuff with the mass-loaded vinyl imbedded in one side of it.

-tINY

Old 21st August 2006
Lives for gear

What kind of foam? What size were the pieces? How big is the room? Where did you put it?
Old 23rd August 2006
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogWai View Post
What kind of foam? What size were the pieces? How big is the room? Where did you put it?

All the right questions...

You cant just throw the foam on the walls and expect it to deaden the sound. i mean you gotta get strategic with things... how is your room set up?
Old 27th August 2006
Here for the gear

Try this trick...