The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Question about new line of Acoustic Products
Old 10th April 2006

Question about new line of Acoustic Products

Hello fellow slutz,

I come to you because I am in the process of developing a new line of products for my company and I would like your opinions. I work as a Studio Designer/Acoustician, and I'm offering both services (various studies, engineering etc) and products (different models of panels etc.)

The company's approach is of the "no compromise" type: serious studies and custom-made panels, fully tuned and designed for the client's facilty.(i.e high-end stuff). For projects with a more limited budget, I work out DIY solutions so that the client can build his facility himself in time, in which case I will only provide plans and a description of "how to do it".

But I recently got more and more requests from project/middle sized studios for "kits" or cheaper already made / standardised panels... But yet serious (no foamy crap!) and good looking.

So I have been working on designing "Ikea-type" wood based kits covering all the usual suspects: Diffusors, diffractors, resonators, etc. in various sizes (typically 3).

But since I don't like to compromise on quality, I have also planned to make them tunable (when needed)... So the client could access a special page on the website and by inserting for a specified model for ex. the desired reso freq of a resonator he would get the proper solution/directions and tune the panel himself while mounting it.

What do you think?

Here is a 3D rendering of what a "basic" diffusor in kit would look like (Pine wood, 1200/1200/350mm), and some pics of the woodcrafters at work... building a couple of pre-series models!

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Question about new line of Acoustic Products-acbp-studios-acoustics-gs.jpg  
Old 10th April 2006
Gear Guru

Lightbulb

Anderson,