The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
micro-perforated absorbers
Old 18th May 2011
Lives for gear

micro-perforated absorbers

Hi All.

Just wondering if anyone out there has used these and what kind of results they got? how low in frequency where you able to get effective absorption at? if anyone has used them in their studio please let us know which ones and how it all went?

Regards

Anthony
Old 19th May 2011
Lives for gear

i guess no one.....maybe this is too far an advanced technology

Old 19th May 2011
Lives for gear

There are a bunch of threads on this forum and resources all over the internet about perforated panels.
Old 19th May 2011
Gear Maniac

I think microperforation is used a lot in industrial applications. I've got no in depth experience myself but the Whealy Pourous Abs. Calc. does microperforated sheets as well.
Old 19th May 2011
Lives for gear

Micro perforation is usually effective in the midrange and thus not very interesting for studio design where we are mostly interested in either low frequency absorption or broadband (for early reflection points).
Old 27th May 2011
Gear Guru
Perforated metal

One seems microperforated absorbers in ships, factories, airports, outdoor smoking areas and so on. Usually metal, often stainless steel. I saw a studio in Liverpool with lots of this. There is some rule of thumb. From memory, approximately speaking, if the perforation area is 30% or above, the facing is acoustically transparent. The depth of the absorption behind will determine the lowest frequency of absorption. Expect total absorption down to a frequency where the fibre is 1/4 wavelength, but significant absorption at much shallower, e.g. 1/10 wavelength.

DD
Old 27th May 2011
Lives for gear

Why start more of these toxic ”rules of thumb” when this is so easy the learn properly:

Porous Absorber Calculator V1.58
Old 27th May 2011
Gear Guru
Start

Who's starting what?