The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
DIY Treatment build Studio Monitors
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

DIY Treatment build

Hey all, after reading through some threads and sites on diffusers (mainly Jeremycox's sticky thread and QRD diffusers: Technical Overview) I decided to build my own. As I have very little knowledge of working with wood, I asked my dad to help. So here goes =)

I decided to go for an N7 QRD. I'm building it with 1/4" MDF Board from Home Depot. At the advice of people in Jeremycox's thread, I decided to make the wells 1-1/2" wide and 8" deep.

We don't have a table saw (I believe it was stolen from our garage during a busy remodel a few years back) so my dad made all the cuts with a circular saw. We've had to file a few of the edges down to even it all up, but it looks to be fairly snug and well-fitting so far. We're glueing it together, and shooting nails in certain places with a nail gun made for nailing trim.

It's about halfway done right now but if this one goes well, I think we'll be building another, larger version =D I'll try to post pictures as we go.

What do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
DIY Treatment build-2-all-layed-out.jpg   DIY Treatment build-4-first-glue.jpg   DIY Treatment build-6-next-glue-day.jpg  
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

More pics

It's taking quite a bit of time because we want to make sure the glue really sets. Here's some more pictures of the fins and well dividers.
Attached Thumbnails
DIY Treatment build-7-taking-shape.jpg   DIY Treatment build-8-measuring-spaces.jpg   DIY Treatment build-9-building-building.jpg  
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

For some reason, a few of the pictures are getting twisted around. Oh well...
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear