The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Does this room have any potential?
Old 26th December 2010
Here for the gear

Question Does this room have any potential?

Alright slutz this is an exciting moment for me. My first post!
I've attached some pictures of the basement i have to work with for recording and mixing. I'm a sound recording student and have a basic grasp on room acoustics... or so i thought
Anyways, i refuse to make any major decisions without hearing what you guys/gals think first. Some starting questions I have are...

- Is that an okay place for drum sets to be recorded? (where my "drum set" is currently positioned) I mean, i know larger rooms are ideal and that small spaces are usually a nightmare but the walls aren't really parallel... What treatment can I give that area to make it work? (if its even possible)

- I attempted to make a small area that was originally supposed to be a bathroom into a "vocal booth"... The foam definitely dries up that space and I'm always looking for dry vox so that I can add reverb myself. Is there anything I can do to improve that small space? Do I have the right idea at all?

- Is there a better place I can set up in the room for monitoring? I doubt where I sit now is ideal but I honestly have no clue where to go.

- How can I use absorbers, diffusers, and bass traps to improve this specific room's acoustics for recording and mixing? It's a really unusual shape.

Please let me know if there is anything I can add to this post to help you help me!
I want to thank everyone in advance for your time and patience... This website sustains me

Does this room have any potential?-basement-1.jpg

Does this room have any potential?-basement-2.jpg

Does this room have any potential?-basement-3.jpg

Does this room have any potential?-basement-4.jpg

Does this room have any potential?-basement-5.jpg