The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
micing a guitar cab? acoustic treatment needed? Condenser Microphones
Old 16th December 2010
Gear Nut

micing a guitar cab? acoustic treatment needed?

hi folks, i have just started building a home studio but my room isn't treated .. i also have to admit that when it comes to engineering, i'm a newbie... but definitely not new to recording in a studio...

a singer recently hired me to record a few electric guitar parts at home...

I was originally planning on just micing the cab with an sm57, but this guy seems convinced the more mics, the better... so i told him i could also use my gefell m930 to give a bit of ambiance...

anyway he called me up last night and asked me if i could record in a professional studio because my room isn't treated...

i can understand treating a room for acoustic instruments, but will it make such an enormous difference for recording a guitar cab??? i'm thinking this singer is just paranoid but i guess i could be wrong...

i just dont want to drag all my gear into a studio considering how heavy and expensive it is
Old 16th December 2010
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterdmmc View Post
hi folks, i have just started building a home studio but my room isn't treated .. i also have to admit that when it comes to engineering, i'm a newbie... but definitely not new to recording in a studio...

a singer recently hired me to record a few electric guitar parts at home...

I was originally planning on just micing the cab with an sm57, but this guy seems convinced the more mics, the better... so i told him i could also use my gefell m930 to give a bit of ambiance...

anyway he called me up last night and asked me if i could record in a professional studio because my room isn't treated...