The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Are Superchunks Better Than Panels Straddled on a Corner?
Old 9th April 2010
Gear maniac

Are Superchunks Better Than Panels Straddled on a Corner?

I am curious if superchunks floor to ceiling absorb better in low-end than say a 6 inch thick panel straddled across the corner floor to ceiling? Does the air gap behind the panel provide the same bass absorption as filling up the corner with a superchunk?

Thanks,
Josh
Old 9th April 2010
Gear nut

I am no expert....yet. But I was curious about this myself so when I was putting together a room I did my own testing to see what worked better. I will post results to show everyone. Long story short I could only use three corners for the test (sucks I know) but I could get enough to see the results. I found that what worked best in my room was a 6 inch panel (rock wool 3.5# and only because I started with that and not because I tested out a 4 inch) FRK facing the inside of the room and a superchunk behind it. My way wasn't as conventional though. I have a guy who can get me foam so I had him cut it into the shape of the corner to fit right behind my panels. It was 2 # density. I went from ground to ceiling in the front with a 24" width and the back right was a 32" width (because I could). I reduced the decay time A lot more and evened out the peaks overall.

The panel itself worked well too but it just worked better with the superchunk foam behind it.

hope that helps.
Old 9th April 2010
Old 9th April 2010
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruanddu View Post
I am curious if superchunks floor to ceiling absorb better in low-end than say a 6 inch thick panel straddled across the corner floor to ceiling? Does the air gap behind the panel provide the same bass absorption as filling up the corner with a superchunk?

Thanks,
Josh