The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
whats the relationship between air and absorbtion
Old 16th November 2009
Gear Addict

whats the relationship between air and absorbtion

I'm building some absorption panels above above my mixing position to stop reflections off the ceiling, and i'm trying to determine whether i should use 1" of 703 with a 1.5" airspace (spaced out with a 2x2) or whether i should use 2" of absorption with a 1.5" airspace.

Or maybe i should go all around thicker with say 2.5" airspace and 2" of 703

How important is absorbing lower frequencies at initial reflection points?

My mixing desk is against a wall, how effective would the 4.5" absorber be at trapping bass if it was in the wall/ceiling corner that is in front of me above my desk?

Im fairly new to this but I've been doing tons of research trying to design a good setup to do my final mixes in

Thanks!
Old 16th November 2009
Gear Guru
Test it

Some recommend only HF (thin) treatment at the first reflection points. e.g. Ceiling and Side Walls. For most small rooms I believe thicker treatment, plus an equal gap is best.
The ceiling to floor and side wall modes can be just as strong as others.
DD
Old 17th November 2009
Gear Addict

Quote:
Some recommend only HF (thin) treatment at the first reflection points. e.g. Ceiling and Side Walls. For most small rooms I believe thicker treatment, plus an equal gap is best.
What is the reason for only high frequency absorption on reflection points?

I am also making these bass traps for the side walls and part of the ceiling, and mid to high frequency absorbers on the ceiling and walls. I was planning on doing a 1" 703 panel spaced from the walls with 2x2's for my mid to high range absorbers.

So should I use the same 1" 703+2" airspace absorbers for my ceiling reflection points? Or should i go for something beefier that will cover a bigger range of frequencies?