The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
another "help me to treat my small room" thread
Old 9th June 2009
Lives for gear

another "help me to treat my small room" thread

Hello !

It's time for me to move to another apartment in 1,5 month (I'm quite nervous to be honest as my current acoustic seem to be very good with very high walls and wood everywhere)

But well my future new apartment is bigger and my lady is happy ;-)heh

So as the acoustic of this small room is not good I suppose the best thing would be to make it as "dead" as possible. I will mainly track in this room as I'm not a mixing engineer at all.
My budget is around ~1200 $ US and have no issue to order overseas if shipping fees are not unrealistic. Also I will rent this apartment so no unchangeable modification in the apartment is possible !

New room summary :

- wood floor
- standard walls (no wood or other specific treatments)
- straight walls (as a cube !)

I create a small draft of this room in the word file (not accurate in the scale).

My goals are :

- avoid reflections on my vocals recordings and “wrong” frequencies
- reduce by some db volume for my neighbors (I know it is very difficult without drastic changes on my environment)
- get a more balanced representation of my sound even I'm not a mixer

Hope this is possible somehow...
thanks for your feedbacks and don't hesitate to ask more questions
P.S ; English is not my mother tongue if you haven’t realized yet ;-)
Attached Files
File Type: doc home studio design.doc (32.5 KB, 223 views)
Old 9th June 2009
Gear Guru

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by isham View Post
My goals are:
- avoid reflections on my vocals recordings and “wrong” frequencies
- reduce by some db volume for my neighbors (I know it is very difficult without drastic changes on my environment)
- get a more balanced representation of my sound even I'm not a mixer