The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Choosing acoustic material for DIY panels
Old 22nd May 2019
Here for the gear

Choosing acoustic material for DIY panels

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to acoustics so forgive me if I say something that doesn't make sense.

2 years ago I bought some basic acoustic wedges for my front and side walls to treat early reflections. I noticed quite some improvement, particularly with some nasty flutter echo I had. However, I still notice some echo at listening position and I think it has to do with my room being quite tall. I also have some issues with bass nulls that I want to treat before buying a sub.

I'm currently planning on building a few acoustic cloud panels that will be suspended from the ceiling. I saw some tutorials and I think I have a rough idea of how I will construct them. The only problem left is choosing the absorbing material. Because I live in The Netherlands, many products advised on tutorials are not available here. I did some research myself and found a product by Rockwool called "RockSono Solid". It seems to be available only in The Netherlands so I couldn't find an english spec sheet. The Dutch sheet says it's density is around 45kg/m^3. They also included this graph and table with absorption-coefficients.

I hope you guys can still understand it although the legend is in Dutch.