The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Non-pro with Pro Tools, looking for reasons not to sell it
Old 20th November 2020
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Non-pro with Pro Tools, looking for reasons not to sell it

Posting in High End b/c I seek input from pros or perhaps hobbyists-gone-pro or "semi-pro."

I am a hobbyist, earn my living in IT. Don't see that changing, though I might not necessarily be against it. The only "work" I've done beyond my own recordings is to contribute guitar tracks for a couple of Youtube channels, to friends for their recordings, and for an indie video game (good friends starting out; didn't charge). I don't see myself ever becoming a pro in recording, post, etc.

I bought Pro Tools perpetual last year to over-prepare for some IT work with a studio. Came across a great deal on perpetual + two years support.

And now, I indeed know the basics of PT, but since I'm more proficient with Reaper and also have Logic on the Macbook, I'm inclined to sell the Pro Tools license. However... there's this nagging feeling that if I sell it, I might not be prepared for some future collaboration or work where having PT (or greater expertise in it) would benefit even someone like me, maybe even lead to something more interesting than what I do for a living now. Or am I likely just overthinking?

I am not asking anyone to make a choice for me but simply looking for thoughts on perhaps use cases or benefits (real or potential) that I might not be considering.
Old 21st November 2020
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
i am not a pro engineer but am a pro musician
leaning towards record engineering and orchestration on the side sort of.
i have not used protools since 2017 when i switched to cubase cos it handles better midi and 1000 plus tracks template and i can not get that out of protools so i switched but also use reaper for sound design really quick.