The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
".... isn't a valid 64 bit aax plugin" error
Old 30th October 2019
Lives for gear

".... isn't a valid 64 bit aax plugin" error

I've already sent emails to the companies about this. I did a lot of searching for similar issues but nothing's working... I've been using Tokyo Dawn's TDR Nova plugin for a few years, it's really great. The problems started when I got an ipad a week ago and wanted to try the ProTools Control app. I had to download the Avid Link software so I could get the Eucon software to get the app running with ProTools. I never got that to work, but that's a whole other story...

When I got Avid Link and the Eucon software installed, ProTools started telling me on boot up that TDR Nova wasn't a valid 64 bit aax plugin and will not load it. I tried reinstalling the plugin a few times, trashed my prefs and reinstalled a few times but no dice. I finally uninstalled Avid Link and the Eucon software today, trashed prefs again and reinstall the plugin. Still not working, and on top of that it's added a few more UAD Plugins to the list of things that aren't valid 64 bit aax (Which isn't a big deal, because those are the Townsend Labs virtual mic plugin, which I don't have).

I'm running ProTools 12.5 on OS X El Cap 10.11.4 if that helps. Willing to try anything at this point as I have 5 mixes I need to recall for mastering that needed to be done like yesterday. I don't have anything that really does what the TDR Nova plugin does, and it fixed some critical issues in these last 5 mixes...
Old 1st November 2019
Gear Head

This sounds very much like an error that has been discussed over at the DUC recently. Involving PTs users on macs with OS earlier than 10.14, PT Control, and IOS devices upgraded to IOS 13 on their machines. It seems that both Avid and Apple agree that the problem stems from the IOS upgrade and that it's solved simply by upgrading to Mac OS 10.14. I'm not certain about the details but check out over at the DUC.