The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Making pop in 2019 - which Mac? (Pro Tools)
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Making pop in 2019 - which Mac? (Pro Tools)

Hi!

I have never used Pro Tools before, but I plan to get it shortly and start learning how to produce pop. I have spent roughly a year just learning songwriting, and I have written some songs that I would like to believe are top notch. Of course, being a songwriter and producer seem to go hand and hand in 2019, and now learning how to produce is top priority on the long list of things I have to do to ultimately get my music out there.

I would like to make "big pop." So in terms of the general "type" of music I'm looking to make, think maybe... this?

I know a lot about computer hardware, but very little about how powerful of a computer I would need to make music like this. I'm kind of thrown off because on one hand, I see people saying that you need a workstation-level machine, and on the other hand, tons of people seem to be using laptops.

In terms of my budget, I am committed enough to spend a decent chunk of my savings on this machine if I have to, but obviously the less it costs me, the better. I am expecting to have to spend about $2,000-$6,000, but I could do more. I have always used Mac OS; I really don't like Windows. Here are the options I'm considering:

2019 8-core i9 MacBook Pro, 32 GB RAM

2019 8-core i9 iMac, self-upgrade to probably 64 GB RAM

iMac Pro, 8-core or 10-core maybe? 64 GB RAM

Wait for Mac Pro - only upgrade the CPU, maybe to the 12-core? Self-upgrade RAM and SSD