The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
New to Pro tools and need help with Drums
Old 17th April 2019
Here for the gear

New to Pro tools and need help with Drums

Hi everyone

Total newbie to DAW's. Well I spent two years recording stuff at home for fun in Audacity until I discovered that really its not a DAW.

I have now installed Pro Tools First and Im sort of getting away with it mainly by blundering my way through but I am really struggling with Drums. I do covers but also write my own stuff. Ive been through all the drum loops and they are all very Hip Hop Drum and Bass type stuff. Ive watched a video on creating your own drum loops and ive had a go but its painful to be honest as I dont really know what I am doing.

For example I picked an Ocean Colour Scene track to cover, this one. YouTube I cant get close to those drums and they should be pretty simple.

Is there a repository of Pro Tools Drum loops anywhere? Can someone point me in the direction of any useful guides or how I might recreate something similar myself?

Thanks
Old 6th May 2019
Here for the gear

Hi there
Im using Steve slate 4 drums and they are great loads if kits interchangeable and editable

Pro tools 12
Win 10
Old 6th May 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by P A WOOD View Post
Hi there
Im using Steve slate 4 drums and they are great loads if kits interchangeable and editable

Pro tools 12
Win 10
OP is on Pro Tools First. He can’t use any plugins not bought through Avid. He won’t be able to use what you’ve recommended
Old 6th May 2019
Here for the gear

Thats a bummer
Old 6th May 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazza Bingo View Post
Hi everyone

Total newbie to DAW's. Well I spent two years recording stuff at home for fun in Audacity until I discovered that really its not a DAW.