The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Avid HDX I/O vs Apollo X
Old 1st April 2019
Here for the gear
Avid HDX I/O vs Apollo X

hi guys!
For years I'm a Pro Tools Native Non Hd user and these years I'm using the Apollo 8 quad! I'm sure many of you use such a system! I have a question for those users of the Hd version and especially those who have Hdx and Avid i/o cards (8 × 8 × 8 ) - (16 × 16). do you suggest to get the Avid Protools hdx system or Apollo X? regardless of the big difference in money, are there any big differences in listening, recording and working these two versions "HDX - Apollo X"? Thank's
Old 1st April 2019
Lives for gear

It really depends on your needs, the work flow is entirely different. I use a apollo BF16 with PT HD/Ultimate software. It's very solid, but the workflow with the Apollo console, is cumbersome and limited in comparison to a HDX system. That being said, if you are just overdubbing yourself, or no more than say a 3 or 4 piece band, the Apollo can definitely work and for cheaper, although used HD/HDX gear is getting pretty cheap. If you are trying to run a commercial room, I would do HDX over anything else for a tracking setup.
Old 1st April 2019
Lives for gear

we tried to use Apollo X on a four band piece tracking session in our smaller tracking room. After that session there is no way I would get rid of our existing HDX system. First having to switch out our Pro Tools to the Console App was a pain. If you wanted a low latency plugin instead of HDX DSP plugin you had to insert it on the Apollo Console - I just did not like the work flow added latency.
Plus our rooms use multiple engineers and most guys are not going to add to a work flow. You want to save time in a setup. Plus HDX does sound pretty awesome.
Old 16th April 2019
Lives for gear

Does the apollo x even sonically compare to an HD i/o interface? I would think not.

ej
Old 17th April 2019