The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
2018 iPad Pro 11" with Avid Dock
Old 28th January 2019
Here for the gear

2018 iPad Pro 11" with Avid Dock

Hello!

This is my first time posting so I hope I'm putting this in the right place.

I recently handed down my iPad Air 2 to my son and replaced it with a late 2018 iPad Pro 11. Since one of my uses for it is to run Control in the Avid Dock, I thought I'd report back with my findings.

Short answer, IT WORKS!

Here are some details:

1: I've attached a pic of the soft knob alignment with channel mode in Control. Since the 11 has a different physical screen width and resolution, they don't line up as well as before. But it's honestly not enough for me to care. Hasn't bothered me at all during use.

2: In the same pic mentioned above, you may notice that I have a right angle USB-C (USB-A on the other end - into the Dock) connected to the iPad for charging. I consider this is a must. There are several - I bought this one:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

3: In order to keep the charger connected, you'll need to utilize the cradle adaptor that came with the dock. I have no idea what it's called, so I attached a pic - popped it off and held it in my hand to make it obvious. Without this adaptor, the iPad fits but not while plugged into power.

4: You do NOT need the 10.5" iPad adaptor from Avid. I bought it and it's seen in this picture. But it made no discernible difference. I tried both the original and new. They both hold the 11" nice and snug and the height / alignment with soft knobs is the same. For clarity, this is the part I'm saying you don't really need:
Pro Tools | Dock 10.5" iPad Adapter | Audio Accessories | Avid